Avant- Post- Grunge / Classical Collaboration

Previously, we brought you avant-grunge rockers PHYSICAL SUICIDE DETERRENT SYSTEM PROJECT's "Geology" for Owl Mountain Sessions 009. Session 010 revisits "Geology" with an acoustic cross-genre interpretation arranged by Matt Montgomery (Versus Them) featuring the TOWN QUARTET, an Oakland, CA string quartet.

PSDSP front man Eli Carlton-Pearson unplugs for this new performance of “Geology", but rocks the grunge nonetheless. Where fellow PSDSP band members Brian Wilkerson's dark melodic electric bass and Michael Pinkham's shimmering drums usually comprise the additional voices in the Bay-Area trio’s “Geology”, composer and musical polymath Matt Montgomery swaps in the Town Quartet with a skillfully layered arrangement for two violins, viola, and cello. The result maintains the original composition’s beautiful thunder and heaviness—provided by Jacob Hansen-Joseph’s viola and Lewis Patzner’s cello—while soaring into otherworldly atmospheres through the full range of octaves on Corey Mike and Mia Bella D’Augelli’s violins.

Collaboration, a convergence of ideas, classical instruments exploring modern expressions. Enjoy Owl Mountain Sessions 010 “Geology” for all this and more!

“Geology” Arranged for string quartet by Matt Montgomery

PSDSP - Physical Suicide Deterrent System Project Eli Carlton-Pearson - guitar, vocals Brian Wilkerson - bass, vocals Michael Pinkham - drums

TOWN QUARTET Corey Mike - violin Mia Bella D’Augelli - violin Jacob Hansen-Joseph - viola Lewis Patzner - cello